WEST BENGAL STATE ELECTION COMMISSION

18, Sarojini Naidu Sarani (Rawdon Street) Kolkata – 700 017 Ph No. 2280-5805; FAX: 2280-7373

No. 3967(23)-SEC/1M-20/2013

From:

The O.S.D. & E.O. Joint Secretary,

West Bengal State Election Commission

To : 1) Smt. Soma Shaw, WBCS(Ex.), Municipal Returning Officer for KMC,

Ward No.1 & Assistant Election Officer, District Election Office,

63, N.S. Road, Kolkata-700001.

 Sri Tanay Deb Sarkar, WBCS(Ex.), Municipal Returning Officer for KMC, Ward No.24 & Deputy Director, Panchayats & RD, 63, N.S. Road, Kolkata-700001.

3) Municipal Returning Officer &

Sub-Divisional Officer, Dinhata / Cooch Behar(Sadar)/ Mal /

Jalpaiguri (Sadar) / Siliguri / Barrackpore / Bidhannagar /

Barasat / Alipore (Sadar)/ Chandernagar / Raghunathpur /

Purulia(Sadar) / Egra/ Asansol / Lalbagh / Bankura (Sadar) /

Howrah(Sadar) / Midnapur(Sadar) / Jhargram /

Berhampur(Sadar) / Krishnanagar(Sadar).

Sub: Booth capturing – Municipal General and Bye-Elections, 2013.

Sir / Madam,

I am directed to invite your attention to Section 63 of the West Bengal Municipal Elections Act, 1994 which lays down the actions to be taken by the Municipal Returning Officer and by this Commission in the event of "booth capturing". The word "booth capturing" shall bear the same meaning as in Section 135A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 which has been reproduced at pp.36-37 of the Municipal Election Manual 1998 published by this Commission and Section 63 of the West Bengal Municipal Elections Act, 1994 which also has been reproduced at page 71 of the same Municipal Election Manual 1998.

- 2. The "Explanation" to the aforesaid Section 135A lists the activities amounting to "booth capturing".
- 3. I am directed to request you to instruct all concerned to keep a sharp eye and to report immediately to this Commission if any incident of "booth capturing" takes place.
- 4. Please treat this as extremely important.

Yours faithfully,

Date: 26.10.2013

Sd/ O.S.D. & E.O. Joint Secretary West Bengal State Election Commission Copy forwarded for information and necessary action to:

- 1. The District Municipal Election Officer for Kolkata Municipal Corporation& District Magistrate, South 24-Parganas.
- The District Municipal Election Officer & District Magistrate, Cooch Behar / Jalpaiguri /
 Darjeeling / North 24-Parganas / South 24-Parganas / Howrah / Hooghly/ Purba Medinipur /
 Paschim Medinipur/ Burdwan/ Purulia / Bankura / Murshidabad / Nadia.

Sd/ O.S.D. & E.O. Joint Secretary West Bengal State Election Commission

Date: 26.10.2013